Road repair and construction is a fact of life here in Georgia and elsewhere. It seems particularly prevalent during summer travel or even fall commutes, as the state works to shore up roads, bridges and ramps. This is necessary work, but the problem is that drivers will often come across work zone signage and seemingly empty job sites.
Work zone rules for drivers
Georgia regards speeding in a work zone as a misdemeanor of a high or aggravated nature. Even if there are no workers at the site, the driver can still get fined for not less than $100 and up to $2,000 and/or spend up to a year in jail. It is also points on your driver’s license:
- 15-18 mph is two points
- 19-23 mph is three points
- 24-33 mph is four points
- 34+ mph is six points
The state suspends the driver’s license of those who accrue 15 points in two years.
They must also follow the rules
The department of transportation, counties and municipalities can designate a work zone. However, they must also do the following:
- Erect signage at least 600 feet before the beginning of the work zone indicating if the reduced posted speed limit is 10 mph or greater.
- The signage must be visible to drivers moving at the posted speed.
- The work zone speed limit must be posted in the zone at not more than one mile apart.
- The signs must indicate that there are increased fines and penalties in the work zone.
- There must be signs indicating the end of the work zone and that higher penalties no longer apply.
- Regular signage for speed limits must be removed or covered.
Drivers can fight the citation
Those cited for a work zone violation may be confused by the signage or mistakes made by the work crew, so they can dispute the ticket or the penalties. It may reduce the penalties, which can be crucial when the driver already has several points on their license. It can also positively impact your driving record and insurance rates.