We Care

Marijuana possession in Georgia: What you should know

Marijuana is a drug that’s still illegal under federal laws, but some states and municipalities have decriminalized it. For people who live in Georgia, however, this has not come to pass: There is still the possibility of facing criminal charges because of possession of marijuana. 

In this state, the severity of the charge you may face depends on the amount of marijuana in your possession when you’re arrested.

When is the possession of marijuana a misdemeanor?

A person who has 1 ounce or less of this drug in their possession will face a misdemeanor charge. This comes with up to a $1,000 fine and the possibility of up to a year in jail. Individuals who are facing this charge shouldn’t think of this as a minor matter. Even a misdemeanor drug conviction can have serious implications, including the loss of their driver’s license. 

When is the possession of marijuana a felony?

Anyone who has more than 1 ounce of marijuana in their possession is facing a felony charge that has much more serious penalties than a misdemeanor. This conviction comes with a mandatory minimum of a year in prison and up to 10 years. There’s also a maximum $5,000 fine.

Regardless of what type of marijuana charge you’re facing you need to learn your options for a defense. Your attorney can go over these with you and help you to learn about how each of them may impact you. The specific circumstances of your case must be considered when you’re trying to determine what option for your defense strategy might be the best one for your situation. 

Archives