If you speed often, you should know that you’re committing an offense even if you’re not getting caught. Speeding puts you at a higher risk of getting into a serious crash, which is why it’s taken so seriously by the police.
Speeding in Georgia will potentially lead to harsh penalties. The kinds of penalties you face depend partially on how fast you were traveling at the time of the traffic stop.
What should you do if you’re accused of being a Super Speeder?
If you are accused of being a super speeder, it means that you may have been driving at a speed of 75 mph or more on a two-lane roadway. It may also mean that you’ve been accused of speeding at 85 mph or more on any roadway in Georgia.
There are typical fines and fees to pay when you get any speeding offense, but a Super Speeder state fee is an additional $200. This is charged to anyone convicted of super speeding and must be paid within 120 days of the offense.
Will you lose your license for super speeding? In some cases, you could. If you don’t pay the Super Speeder fee within four months (120 days), then you’ll have your license suspended.
Is it worth defending against a Super Speeder accusation?
Any time you face any type of charges, whether they’re for a traffic ticket offense or another action, it’s a good idea to have your attorney look into the case. There may be ways to minimize your penalties or to have the offense lowered or dropped, so you can avoid extra fees or points on your license.