The flashing lights behind the car often momentarily leave Georgia drivers stunned. Once they realize that they are being pulled over, they get off the roadway and wait. An officer comes to the window, and by the time the conversation is over, those drivers have citations for traffic violations.
Many people get home and figure they will just pay the ticket and plead guilty, but that might be a mistake. Their auto insurance rates could go up, and points could be added to their driver’s licenses. If a driver accumulates enough points, his or her license could be suspended.
This could be particularly problematic for a driver with a CDL license. A conviction for a traffic violation must be reported to the employer within 30 days. Considering the seriousness of the violation, any prior infractions and the requirements of the employer, this could put the driver’s job in jeopardy.
Georgia is not one of the states that allows drivers to dismiss their tickets by attending a driving school, but a defensive driving course could be taken once every five years to remove up to seven points. Even this might not be enough. Drivers under the age of 18 cannot accumulate four or more points within 12 months. More serious traffic violations could result in a deduction of four or more points, so it would be a good idea not to simply plead guilty and pay the fine.
Drivers who decide to fight their traffic tickets must attend a court hearing. It might be a good idea to prepare before attending this hearing. Georgia residents who want to keep traffic violations off their driving records could consult with an attorney in advance of the hearing.
Source: dmv.org, “GA Traffic Ticket FAQ“, Accessed on April 22, 2017